Why Regret…Let’s Fine-tune Our Lives…

One fine morning, I received a telephone call from one of my friends and after exchange of pleasantries, he inquired as to whether I have read the news item captioned “Biggest regrets of the dying revealed“. When I replied in negative, he told me that it has appeared on page 25 in The Times of India of June 22, 2013 and advised me to read it.

The news item was about a nurse from Australia, Bronnie Ware, who worked in a palliative care unit, looking after patients in the last 12 weeks of their lives. She recorded the biggest regrets of their lives, as revealed by them to her. She shared the five top  regrets on her Blog entitled ‘Inspiration and Chai‘ and I quote below:

    • I wish I’d had the courage to live life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.
    • I wish I hadn’t worked so hard.
    • I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
    • I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.
    • I wish that I had let my self be happier. Unquote.

She has also put her observations in the book entitled “The Top Five Regrets of the Dying“.

Look at life from this perspective that millions of years have already gone by and millions of years are yet to come and in this spectrum of time we have a very small window during which we have to get our act  on this planet together. Now, the question is : Should we really spend our precious lives with regrets? And the answer obviously is : No, let’s fine-tune our lives so as to have no regrets, whatsoever. Do you agree with me?

“There is only one important point you must keep in your mind and let it be your guide. You must ask yourself how is it you want to live your life. No one can help us. So consider carefully, what prevents you from  living the way you want to live your life?” with these words of the XIV Dalai Lama, I sign off this blog-post wishing you all a happy and regret-free life. Enjoy…

4 thoughts on “Why Regret…Let’s Fine-tune Our Lives…

  1. Completely agree with your view Sir. But along with this we must also learn from our as well as other’s mistakes. I’m quite sure when Nurse Bronnie Ware wrote this, she wish all of us don’t make same kind of mistakes in our life 🙂

  2. I am completely against this post. If any dalia lama says like this that no one can help u, live the life u want to live by any means, he is discarded from every religion according to me, bkz it is religion that connect people. If every person start living the life in its own fashion, society would never be stable. And these observations given here, if u true, represent only a negligible fraction of world.
    The only thing that can link people is religion and if u really want that u dont complaint at the end of your life, then dare to accept the right religion(if u can).

  3. sir, truly said. there should NOT be any regrets for what one did or didn’t. bt pragmatically, in my opinion, it is nt possible. philosophically, it sounds great to our ears, bt more than half of us dont even what we have to do or pursue to make ourselves happy or to lead a regretless life(including me).
    i would like to quote last few lines from the poem ‘the road not taken’ by robert frost,

    “i shall be telling this with a sigh
    somewhere ages and ages hence:
    two roads diverged in a wood, and i-
    i took the one less travelled by,
    and that has made all the difference.”

    from the very first line it shows that he doesn’t know whether he’d be happy or not but still he has chosen the way.
    so, from my point of view, i think it’s always a chance that we’ll regret for what we’ve done or didnt do.

Leave a Reply

